Sesame Street Goes USO!


This post may contain affiliate links. Please see Full Disclosure Policy for more information.
Sesame Street USO

Sesame Street USO

Are you looking for something fun and free to do with your children? Look no further than your USO! Again, I am championing this great organization because they are simply fantastic! Here is a brief summary of what the tour is about, as well as, a list of dates, times and bases!

The Sesame Street/ USO Experience for Military Families – the USO’s longest running, free traveling tour based on Sesame Street’s military family initiative – began rolling onto U.S. military installations across the country with the first event taking place at Scott Air Force Base in Illinois on April 7. Created exclusively for this tour, Katie was first introduced to military families in April 2011 by First Lady Michelle Obama and Dr. Jill Biden at a Joining Forces rally in Columbus, Ohio.

Produced in partnership with VEE, this year’s 70-stop tour showcases the power of friendship when Elmo and his Sesame pals help Katie open up about her fears and excitement as she deals with moving to a new place and making new friends. The show comprises a fun-filled character performance with special giveaways and outreach materials for those who attend.

Since its debut in July 2008, the Sesame Street/ USO Experience for Military Families has taken its message to more than 248,000 troops and military families and performed 433 shows on 131 military bases in 33 states and eleven countries.

Current List of Tour Dates:

Tuesday, Sept. 25  Fort Hood, Texas Abrams Field House 2 p.m.; 5 p.m.
Wednesday, Sept. 26 Fort Hood, Texas Abrams Field House 1 p.m.; 6 p.m.
Saturday, Sept. 29 Fort Sill, Okla. Sheridan Theater 2 p.m.; 5 p.m.
Monday, Oct. 1 Tinker AFB, Okla. Base Theater 6 p.m.
Tuesday, Oct. 2 Tinker AFT, Okla. Base Theater 10 a.m.; 6 p.m.
Friday, Oct. 5 Fort Polk, La. Bayou Theater 3 p.m.; 7 p.m.
Saturday, Oct. 6 Fort Polk, La. Bayou Theater 2 p.m.
Monday, Oct. 8 Keesler AFB, Miss. Welch Theater 2 p.m., 5 p.m.
Tuesday, Oct. 9 Keesler AFB, Miss. Welch Theater 6 p.m.
Sunday, Oct. 14 NAS Pensacola, Fla. Command Theater 2 p.m., 4:30 p.m.
Thursday, Oct. 18 Fort Rucker, Ala. Youth Center Gym 2 p.m.; 6 p.m.
Friday, Oct. 19 Fort Rucker, Ala. Youth Center Gym 2 p.m.; 7 p.m.
Sunday, Oct. 21 Maxwell AFB, Ala. Fitness Center Annex, Bldg M689 3 p.m.
Monday, Oct. 22 Maxwell AFB, Ala. Fitness Center Annex, Bldg M689 9:30 a.m.
Wednesday, Oct. 24 Fort Benning, Ga. Kelley Hill Rec. Center, Bldg. 9079 2 p.m.; 6:30 p.m.
Thursday, Oct. 25 Fort Benning, Ga. Kelley Hill Rec. Center, Bldg. 9079 9:30 a.m.; 6:30 p.m.
Monday, Oct. 29 Fort Jackson, S.C. Solomon Center 4 p.m.; 7 p.m.
Tuesday, Oct. 30 Fort Jackson, S.C. Solomon Center 4 p.m.; 7 p.m.
Thursday, Nov. 1 Shaw AFB, S.C. Base Theater 5 p.m.; 7:30 p.m.
Friday, Nov. 2 Shaw AFB, S.C. Base Theater 5 p.m.; 7:30 p.m.
Tuesday, Nov. 6 MCAS Beaufort, S.C. Beaufort Gym 9:30 a.m.; 5 p.m.
Sunday, Nov. 11 NSB Kings Bay, Fla. Fitness Complex 4 p.m.
Monday, Nov. 12 NSB Kings Bay, Fla. Fitness Complex 4 p.m.
Wednesday, Nov. 13 NAS Jacksonville, Fla. Youth Center Gym 6 p.m.
Wednesday, Nov. 14 NAS Jacksonville, Fla. Youth Center Gym 10 a.m.

Enjoy! ~Amanda

See More Articles on Military Living Here




92d3fe425d250a07f0690e7b9446fd75d36d34df8c1539a41f 92d3fe425d250a07f0690e7b9446fd75d36d34df8c1539a41f